Authors: Saha, Subhadeep
Chen, Yen-Ting
Ganta, Sudhakar
Gilles, Markus
Holzapfel, Björn
Lill, Pascal
Rehage, Heinz
Gatsogiannis, Christos
Clever, Guido H.
Title: Coordination cage-based emulsifiers: templated formation of metal oxide microcapsules monitored by in situ LC-TEM
Language (ISO): en
Abstract: Metallo-supramolecular self-assembly has yielded a plethora of discrete nanosystems, many of which show competence in capturing guests and catalyzing chemical reactions. However, the potential of low-molecular bottom-up self-assemblies in the development of structured inorganic materials has rarely been methodically explored so far. Herein, we present a new type of metallo-supramolecular surfactant with the ability to stabilize non-aqueous emulsions for a significant period. The molecular design of the surfactant is based on a heteroleptic coordination cage (CGA-3; CGA=Cage-based Gemini Amphiphile), assembled from two pairs of organic building blocks, grouped around two Pd(II) cations. Shape-complementarity between the differently functionalized components generates discrete amphiphiles with a tailor-made polarity profile, able to stabilize non-aqueous emulsions, such as hexadecane-in-DMSO. These emulsions were used as a medium for the synthesis of spherical metal oxide microcapsules (titanium oxide, zirconium oxide, and niobium oxide) from soluble, water-sensitive alkoxide precursors by allowing a controlled dosage of water to the liquid-liquid phase boundary. Synthesized materials were analyzed by a combination of electron microscopic techniques. In situ liquid cell transmission electron microscopy (LC-TEM) was utilized for the first time to visualize the dynamics of the emulsion-templated formation of hollow inorganic titanium oxide and zirconium oxide microspheres.
Subject Headings: Coordination cages
Metal oxides
Transmission electron microscopy
Issue Date: 2021-11-26
Rights link:
Appears in Collections:Lehrstühle für Anorganische Chemie

This item is protected by original copyright

This item is licensed under a Creative Commons License Creative Commons